What Fertilizers are safe

cherylcohen

The Omelet Ranch
10 Years
Sep 18, 2009
SF East Bay CA
We are in the process of completely re-landscaping our backyard. The girls get to free range a few hours each day so my concern is about using fertilizer. Of course I can use organic and will read all the box info, but is there information out there on the subject? I did a BYC search and only using poop came up
smile.png

I would definitely use organic fertilizer on your lawn. I am a landscaper and I use Corn Gluten Meal on my lawn--it is great, helps control weeds, slow release. Even then, I would wash it in before your chickens get out on it. With your plants, you will want to mix the fertilizer in with the backfill around each plant. I have had a problem with dogs getting into "animal based" fertilizers that contain things like blood meal, bone meal, fish meal, etc... so I would be concerned about chickens trying to eat those also. So in yards where that might happen, I use a slow-release fertilizer (like osmocote) that is mixed into the soil. You can also use liquids at planting time, or spray on the plant for a "pick me up". Do a "test" with any fertilizer if you are still concerned--see how they react to it.

Thanks so much, even organics I think may have something that may not be good for them?? I don't know I'll read the labels, but probably my best bet is working it deep into soil 3 or so inches so they can't reach it

I stopped using any fertilizer or weed control on my lawn a few months before I got my chickens.

The upside - healthy chickens. The downside - not a very uniform or attractive lawn.

I have strong opinions on lawns (I'll save 'em for another thread).
smile.png
Sow the seeds of victory - plant a garden today!

Good luck figuring it out.

most of our property is gardens, roses and other specimens. Just a teeny tiny lawn but the girls are loving being the chicken mowers so far!!