HUGE SWOLLEN ABSCESS ON HEN'S BREAST

choidle

In the Brooder
12 Years
May 18, 2007
MY HEN HAS A HUGE SWOLLEN ABSCESS ON THE FRONT OF HER BREAST. IT LOOKS LIKE THERE IS A CUP OF LIQUID INSIDE, AND IT SWAYS AS SHE WALKS. I NOTICED ONE OTHER POST OF A HEN WITH AN ABSCESS ON THE BACK OF HER HEAD, AND ONE PERSON DIAGNOSED IT AS A COTTAGE CHEESY TYPE BACTERIAL INFECTION. THE OWNER LANCED AND DRAINED IT, AND IT WAS OK. I WOULD DO IT ON MY OWN IF I KNEW HOW. OTHERWISE, I HAVE AN APPT WITH MY VET. ANY IDEAS WHAT THIS MAY BE?

Well,
I am no vet, and have no experience lancing things on animals, but I am a nurse. If you are going to lance this thing, get a really sharp knife (exaco knife would work well or a razor blade) and heat it in the flame on the stove or use alcohol to clean it. Clean the skin well on the chicken with an antibacterial soap, rinse and dry with a towel. Clean the area area again with alcohol and allow to air dry. You will probably need someone to help you hold your bird while you do this. She will probably need to be wrapped in a towel to keep her calm. Make a small quarter inch incision in the bottom part of the abscess so that is can drain completely (ie, don't make the incision in the top). You may have to express the goop and then apply some triple antibiotic ointment. She could probably benefit from some antibiotics give by some other means. You could probably get some abx from your farm supply or vet. Let us know how things go.
smile.png

Choidle, before you start making your bird sushi, answer a few questions.
Does the swelling go down? If it does then it's most likely the bird's crop, where food is stored until it's digested.
If it doesn't go down, does her breath smell? It may be sour or impacted crop.
Keep us updated, please