Turkey Feed and Costs questions...

WhiteMountainsRanch

Crowing
9 Years
Jun 19, 2010
San Diego, CA
This is my first time owning turkeys and they are absolutely awesome. I love them to pieces and they are extremely friendly. They call to me when they see me coming, follow me around like puppies, and drink out the water hose with me.
love.gif
They were born approx 7/20/11 which would make them about 3 months old, but they are already about +/- 15 pounds, maybe they are older than the feed store said... I dunno... anywho...

So one thing I wasn't anticipating was how much they eat. WOW those guys can pack away some food!
ep.gif
Oh and how fast they grow!
th.gif

The other thing I didn't anticipate was getting all Toms. Which I think I did. I got them from the feed store, and they didn't know what they were, but I didn't think I'd get ALL Toms.
idunno.gif

So my question is since I ended up will all Toms I will need to sell some as Thanksgiving Turkeys and I need to know how much to sell them for. I didn't keep track of he food they've been eating (like a dummy) and now I don't know what to price them at. Is there a formula maybe an adult turkey eats _____ food per day or something?

Thanks everyone!

I did some research and it takes 6lbs of feed per pound of weight gain for bourbon reds, which is what I raise. Here's a good article about it

Does anyone know about feeding a breeding flock? Such as overwinter. I haven't found info on that yet so the price of bringing a bird to slaughter versus a pet is probably different.

Quote:

Hmm by that formulation, I have 4 Turks at 15 pounds each, that's 90 pounds each (to date) times 4, is roughly 8 bags of feed, which is $160, divided by 4 which would be $40 per turkey with no profit, and it's not thanksgiving yet....

That might be right?
idunno.gif
Probably close?

I could imagine feeding a breeding flock over winter would be VERY expensive.