How to determine when a Rooster is too Rough

Nicci0110

Songster
Mar 15, 2023
Senatobia, MS
I am new to this. I have a group of 6 Rhode Island Reds. 3 of those are RIR Mixes. The group has one Rooster, he is full RIR. They are 14 weeks old. I hadn't intended to keep a rooster but really loved him. He is becoming a little bit of an A$$hole though. He pecks the ladies when they try to eat and even steps on them. Is this just me being overly sensitive and normal behavior for him? He also poofs himself up HUGE when he sees my smaller chickens who I am about to begin integrating in. I plan to put them in a separate enclosure that they can look at them through for a while first but he just seems to be such a butthead I am wondering if it will ever work. Should I give him a chance and see or start looking to rehome him now? He is still very well behaved with me but seeing him pick on my favorite lady is hard to watch. She is CLEARLY at the bottom of the pecking order which is fine. She is very timid and just kind of stays back until everyone else is done doing whatever and she comes in for leftovers usually.

He is still a teenager, and hormones are driving him a bit nutty. It may become necessary to separate him from the pullets until they mature and start laying.
Any suggestion on when it is actually too much? For now they are not being hurt or anything just bullied. He must always be first in EVERYTHING

It's easier to raise cockerels in a flock of mature hens and at least one rooster, who all help teach polite behavior to the youngsters. Having them eat humble pie is a very good thing! your cockerel is overbearing and has nobody to squelch is obnoxiousness. At least move him out of the pen for a while, or move him on and try again when you have mature hens.