When your doctor tells you that you must exercise

lazy gardener

Crossing the Road
7 Years
Nov 7, 2012
CENTRAL MAINE zone 4B
How many of you have heard this from your doctor? I had one doc who always gave me black marks on my chart b/c I did not engage in a formal exercise program. I explained to her that when I was at work, my job was physically demanding. And at home, I was engaged in all manner of what I called "functional exercise". My functional exercise includes building stone walls, planting an orchard, lugging buckets full of water and wet feed, shoveling, digging, removing boulders, building various "stuff". Yet, she insisted that a formal exercise program was the "be all and end all" of physical fitness. Yeah, I have a few more pounds on my frame than I should. I've been loosing the same 10# for the past 10 years! But, that is caused by too much elbow and wrist flexion (bringing tasty morsels to the mouth) rather than not getting enough exercise. So, in the name of physical fitness without doing mindless repetitive exercise, I've compiled a functional exercise program: