Two sets of eggs in one incubator

johnnam

In the Brooder
12 Years
Jul 14, 2007
sweet home, OR
Hi everyone, I am new to hatching chicks and I had a question. I was wondering if it is okay to have two different hatch dates in the same incubator? I have eggs on day 14 in the incubator now. I was concerned about the humidity during the last three days of the first batch, will it hurt the new eggs to have it that high?

Thanks, any help would be great!
tongue.png

It should be fine. What I would be concerned about is the terrible mess and stinky bacteria that will result from the end of the first hatch. It gets stinky fast and should be cleaned.

I have hatched two cluthes in the bator with no problems. Actually the second group hatched better than the first...they were 1 week after. I was just as efficent as possible about opening to turn the 2nd batch.

For cleaning, I just pulled the egg shells. I had to leave some of the mess but it never got stinky for me. After both hatched were done, I cleaned and used a very dilute bleach solution to clean it.

I did it. Got stinky after the first batch so I took a small cooler and filled it with hot water and let it warm up real good. Dumped the water and pat it dry but not completely, just no puddles. Put the eggs inside the warmed cooler while I cleaned out the bator real fast and put the eggs back inside. Most hatched. I don't think I lost any to my whirlwind cleaning.

It can work as demonstrated with the posts above but it IS NOT recommended at all. The humidity is critical in the last 3 days for the first batch and depending where the new batch is in development could be very detrimental to the newly developing chicks. Sometimes the hatch can take several days and that leaves the humidity to high for to long. The mess is not only the egg shells but there is lots of fuzz and possibly poop as well. It would be in a very fertile environment for developing into a nasty place for new chicks to hatch or grow.