Silkie Frizzle?

Sevmeldim3

Chirping
Oct 30, 2023
Hi guys! Long story short...I ordered bantam brahmas from a hatchery and all but one showed up alive. It was awful. So I was looking for local chicks to keep my singleton company. I never owned silkies, before but I found silkie chicks 3 days younger so I picked up 3. I instantly fell in love so when a friend couldn't sell all her chicks at market, I picked up 6 of her leftover silkies...I know...chicken math got me. The 6 are a week older and wings are starting to feather. This one in the pic is one of the group of 3 silkies, only one week old. Feathers just starting to show...could it be that my baby is a frizzle?! Beautiful baby...I'd be so excited! Feathers coming in just dont look like the rest. So cute! Thanks in advance. I'm just starting to learn about this breed so I appreciate the experienced silkie opinions. Probably too early to tell but thought I would ask. I call this chick "Sunny" for reference.
20240315_085833.jpg
20240315_085819.jpg
20240315_085844.jpg
20240315_085833.jpg

I'm not a expert but I think the fluffy is a sizzle, and the more curly or bent look is frizzle. I also know many different types of birds can have sizzle and frizzle. I was told from the hatchery you can not breed two frizzles together because it will result in a chick who will loose her feathers. The breeding has to be a 50/50. Making it hard to predict who will frizzle. I have two frizzle chicks who are Easter Eggers and I hope I get at least one frizzle look.i won't know until later... hope this helps out some.

I’ve never had a frizzled silkie before (but trust me, I’ve hatched eggs from frizzled pens hoping to get them many times 😂) and that to me looks like a frizzled silkie!! What an adorable chick! I hope she is frizzled for you!

I just hatched several silkie and satin chicks and I thought some of my silkie chicks at that age were frizzled but then they ended up not being! I did end up with one frizzled satin though.