Sebastopol Gosling with Droopy Wings

Enchanted Sunrise Farms

Crowing
12 Years
Apr 26, 2007
Fair Oaks, California
i have a 7-week-old Sebastopol gosling who has developed a droopy wing issue. It's only happened in the last week or so. i'm new to geese, so not sure if this is normal or not. i will see her pull her wings back up tight, then they droop back down. Here is a picture. Would appreciate any input or advice.

1800_droopywing.jpg

most of the time it is just that, a droopy wing because of all of the blood on the wings. Make sure they get plenty of exercise and lots of grass and low protien for a few weeks and once the blood starts to dry the wing should pop back in place.

I guess its not really angel wing per se, but its sort of the same concept -- the wing is growing so fast that the muscles, bones, and tendons can't support its own weight. My female Pilgrim that is now about 2 months old had this for about a week last month, but not as severe as in the photo, and it corrected itself.

I guess you might need to support the wings with some kind of sling or splint, similar to treating angel wing. Let's see what some other posters have to say about the issue.

Thank you for the input. i feed them Purina Flockraiser, which appears to be 20% protein. Is there something else i should be feeding them? i used to also put Mazuri Waterfowl Starter in with them, but they completely ignored it. i also have them out most of the day where they can graze on grass, then give them a head or two of romaine or green leaf lettuce.

i'm not sure how much exercise they get. They are sort of slow moving. i did run them around the yard this morning, and they seemed to enjoy that. Maybe we all need to do that more often. Our goats even joined in the relay races.
smile.png

I would cut them back to 16% protein and bind that wing up for a few days.