Please explain overbreeding to me.

Rachael<3Chickies

Songster
6 Years
Jun 27, 2017
Kentucky, USA
Hello,

This is my first year with chickens and I have roosters and hens. They seem to be doing great. They are just starting to mate. The roosters are pretty big boys. The hens are normal sized I guess. Maybe kinda small because they are 6 months. Anyways, I don't understand how mating kills them. I get the injuries to the back and feathers, although at this point that hasn't happened yet. What I don't understand is how it KILLS them. So per my understanding one day you have a healthy hen, next day dead hen. It just dies. I'm not sure how to watch for that or monitor that.

Thank you to everyone who takes the time to read and reply. ❤️

I have heard of people seeing their hens in shock after mating, then they die, and I don't understand that, but roosters can bore deeeep gashes into hens' sides that can kill them. Roosters are often brutal while mating and sometimes don't care for the hens health. They just want to have as much offspring as possible.

When you see 2 or 3 cockerels ganging up on the weakest pullet repeatedly, just for sport and dominance, you will understand how it can happen. One will pin her down, while the other two take turns mounting her. Often, one will be pinning, while an other one is mounting, and the other one is pecking at her head, waiting for his turn to get on top. This very reason is why it's recommended to place all cockerels in a grow out coop. Cockerels incite each other to aggressive behavior with the weakest members of the flock.

You may already know all this but I’ll copy something I wrote a long time ago. This is typical mating behavior between mature consenting adults. At 6 months you don’t have that yet.

The rooster dances for a specific hen. He lowers one wing and sort of circles her. This signals his intent.