Peachicks with little mites/flees Help!

OrchidCanoe

Chirping
7 Years
Jan 17, 2013
Tonawanda, NY
I'm fostering some peachicks from a zoo, they are about 5-7 days old and they seem to have small whiteish bugs on them crawling through their feather fuzz (Not too many, but I noticed 2-3 on each after watching them for 15 mins). I'm new to keeping peafowl and I'm looking for a way to get these little mites off safely and quickly. They are separated from my other fowl in a quarantined Rubbermaid bin.

Thanks!

Do you have a place they can dust bath, if so add some seven dust to their area, it will not hurt them I use it in my ground brooder to keep ants out and I have never lost a baby one to it.

I only had mites on one of my peacocks and I used 1cc of ivermec pour on and in 2 days no more mites but a chick is a different story, I really don't know what would be a safe amount on one, perhaps someone will chime in that know of such things.

May we see photos of your foster babies... how long do you keep them before they are returned them?

I used a little DE bath on them, it's only been 24 hours, I can still see them on the one's head, they seem less itchy though. I think tommorow I'll give them a bit of sevin dust. They were hatched outside, and then the peahen just stopped caring for them.

Here is one of them, I have a feeling it's a boy.

I found DE was not very effective on any bug plus it is real bad for the lungs, a normal dust bath does a way better job