Oats = bad for chickens

TJAnonymous

Enabler
Feb 29, 2020
Central Arkansas
I've been feeding whole oats to my chickens, along with layer feed, black oil sunflower seeds, and scratch grains.

Today the feed store was out of whole oats so I picked up rolled oats instead. I was browsing online later about the differences in types of oats and came across this article...

https://the-chicken-chick.com/the-shocking-effect-of-oatmeal/

So now I'm a bit freaked out. I'm horrified to think maybe I'm putting my chickens on the verge of death as a result of my ignorance.... Is this sort of thing common knowledge on BYC?

Every morning I mix up a bucket of layer feed, BOSS, scratch, and somewhere around 4-6 cups of oats. This mix is then tossed all around the chicken yard to give them something to "hunt" for.... So that's quite a bit of oats each day. I've been doing this for several months now. I feed oats to my ducks too.

Of course, I looked up whether oats were safe for chickens prior to adding it to their diet and they seemed to be. This is the first time I've come across this kind of information to suggest otherwise.

Wow, what a crazy, over-the-top, shock-jock article. Please note that the scary photos of necrotic guts are linked to an infection caused by keeping chickens in wet, bacteria filled conditions. The only connection to oats is that a diet of 100% oats causes wetter poop.

I'm sure that if you do as the studies do, and feed a diet of 100% oats for life, you'll run into issues. But the fact is that nutritional studies are done by feed companies, with a vested interest in you buying a complete feed from them. What is the complete feed made of? Assorted grains, including oats.

I've been feeding whole oats to my chickens, along with layer feed, black oil sunflower seeds, and scratch grains.