new zealand rabbit color question

littletonlee

Chirping
Feb 28, 2017
im new to raising meat rabbits. i have a rew nz buck and doe and also have 2 nz red does. i crossed my white buck with the to reds and got what i think are chestnuts from one and chestnuts and i think blacks from the other one. im just learning genetics so i am trying to figure out what my white is hiding. all help is welcome. forgot to mention the two reds are mother and daughter. the daughter had all chestnuts the mother had the mix.

Welcome to BYC!
frow.gif

Since we are talking New Zealands, I'm thinking that those blacks are very likely steels.

The ordinary way to get a black is a pair of self genes (aa). Both parents would have to have at least one self gene for that to happen. Steel is in the E series (Es). A self with steel would just look like a self; the only time you see the results of the steel gene is when the rabbit has the agouti gene (A) in the A series. The typical steel looks a bit like a very dark chestnut:

In the New Zealand, they often look like this:

Steel is a weird gene; how it gets expressed depends partly on which gene it is paired with in the E series. If it is paired with the normal extension gene (E), it looks like what is usually called a steel. If it is paired with something else, like harlequin (ej) or non-extension (e) it can be solid black, looking exactly like a genetic self. Sometimes that kind of steel will develop an overall, light ticking, looking a little bit like silvering (except the ticking covers only part of a hair, while silvers have entirely white hairs). Some people call a rabbit with two copies of the steel gene a "super steel;" that combination is solid black, too.