Moldy ground in chicken run!

hayley-gail

Hatching
Apr 17, 2017
San Marcos, TX
I'm new to chickens! I've only had these 2 pullets for 4 weeks (I have four chicks in a brooder as well). Their run is just dirt/leaves/grass. We feed them pellet layer feed straight on the ground (what I was advised). Well I'm in flash flood alley here in San Marcos, TX, and our backyard recently flooded. There was leftover feed that had crumbled on the ground and now this morning I came out and there is mold in multiple places where the crumbled leftover feed was. How on earth do I get rid of it? I don't want my girls getting sick! I add 2 tablespoons of raw apple cider vinegar to their waterer once or twice a week to help digestion and give them probiotics. I'm worried they've already eaten some of it. They peck all over the ground all day of course. Their bag of food is clean and dry. I have diotemacious earth (not food grade), but no lime. Should I just shovel it all out and throw some fresh soil on top? This feeding thing is confusing to me. Every time I feed them there are leftover crumbles.

DE should not have any effect on mold. In a damp climate, I'd not spread any more feed on the ground than they can clean up in a few minutes. Unless there's a reason to be putting it on the ground, why not put it in a feed container?

I'm not opposed to a container at all, I just never bothered getting one. When I bought my chickens I was told to just throw the feed on the ground. But I guess that's going to be my safest bet to prevent it from happening again. I wasn't sure how much they ate at a time when I first got them (and I'm still not), plus my 4 year old enjoys feeding them, so we've definitely thrown a bit too much out.