Massive eggs are cool, but......

ribcrusher

Hatching
8 Years
May 1, 2011
Ok I am not sure what to make of this. This is my first time raising chickens. I have 5 ISA browns that are less than a year old. The one will be laying fine for a month or so and then she stops for a day or two, then out pops this! A 197.4 g or 6.961oz egg. And this is not the first time she had done this to me. She is not that big of a chicken and I have a hard time getting my mind wrapped around the idea she or any normal size chicken could pass such a thing. I do not know if it is some sort of record or not. Live in Mountain View Ca. Chickens are free range and feed a organic, soy free layer along with meal worms and cabbage as treats. Do not get me wrong, big eggs are cool, but this cannot be healthy for her and think would be better off if she just lay normal eggs all the time.

First,
welcome-byc.gif
Glad you joined us!

Secondly, wow. That is quite the egg. Are these large ones double yolkers?

There are a number of posts on the forum showing extra large eggs. They generally seem to come from newly laying birds as they are working things out.

Are the large ones usually wrinkled like this?

There is a chart somewhere of egg abnormalities and possible reasons, but I don't have the link. Perhaps someone will chime in with it.

That is why I stopped keeping Isas, after about a year the egg size got so big they would no longer fit in even large egg cartons. The egg shell quality also started deteriorating as the eggs increased in size beyond extra large.

I've actually had more issues with some of the other super laying, sex links, from other hatcheries. For the most part, these are commercial birds. One strain I have is a Bovan Brown, aka cinnamon queen, golden buff, etc, as best I can determine. Scary big eggs. I agree that while some folks go gaga over giant eggs, I'm not nearly as excited.