Is this a good breed? Blue Leg Hatch Gamefowl

Farmerboy16

Rebuilding my Farm
9 Years
Dec 30, 2010
Sparta, MI
I saw an auction on ebay for the Blue Leg Hatch Gamefowl hatching eggs, and am wondering if this is a good breed? I am looking for gamefowl to raise for hatching my breeder eggs instead of using the incubators all the time. If this is not a good breed, then does anyone here on byc have a good stock? I am new to gamefowl, and I don't care what color they are as long they make very good mothers.Thanks for any input.
smile.png

I cant tell you anything on those.I do know that we have American Games and Asil's.The Asil hens are the best we have ever used to hatch eggs under.They are gentle with the chicks and they dont try to get you everytime you get close to the chicks.We hatch some of our bantams under them.Alot of times when we used the American hens they would step on and kill the bantams chicks trying to get to us when we were taking the chicks away from them.The Asils never do this.The only drawback to these hens is that number one they are hard to find,and number two they are expensive.

Last edited:
Don't buy chickens on ebay!

If you want games for hatching there are plenty of breeders in your neck of the woods to get something that is useful. If you want Asil then cuda is your best bet. He's got plenty for sale right now. Just send him a pm.

I have Ideal stock of BB Malays, 1 cockerel, 3 pullets hatched in March. They are considered as games, right? if I like their temperament, broodiness, then I will invest in breeder's stock next year. That is if I can find any besides bantams, they are very hard to find!
he.gif

Quote:
That all depends on who you ask. lol.

Personally, I would just class Malays as Orientals and leave the game part off.

Please don't be offended by what I'm going to say: You don't have Malays. Your birds might, and I say might, have some Malay blood in them, but you don't have Malays.