Introducing rooster to flock of 12 hens... What to get?

penkwolf

Songster
10 Years
May 2, 2011
Hello,

We have:

3 White Silkies
7 Hybrids
1 Buff
1 Campine
2 Bantums
1 messed up chicken
1 west sussex

anyway we are thinking about getting a rooster to join the flock to start breeding but not sure how to introduce it and what breed to get?

We were tempted to get a silkie rooster but unsure if he will mate with the bigger birds? Also our 3 silkies are the least friendly ones so i am worried that the rooster would be the same?

What would you recomend to get? What type of rooster?

Then how would i introduce it?

I'm no expert since I'm brand new to chickens but from what I've read on this forum, the most friendly roosters would be silkies, cochins and orpingtons.

But aggressiveness and friendliness is chicken-specific, not breed-specific. You might buy a silkie and he be the meanest thing in the world, and someone might have a game cock and he be sweet.

It's just some breeds are generally known to be more docile than others.

I gave my girls a large breed of polish. They love him & his top hat so much & you have never seen a happier roo. I rescued him from a rescue shelter for birds. He was a mess & had been abused by other roosters. He was about 2yrs old when I added him.

I gave my girls a large breed of polish. They love him & his top hat so much & you have never seen a happier roo. I rescued him from a rescue shelter for birds. He was a mess & had been abused by other roosters. He was about 2yrs old when I added him.