How much fighting is normal when introducing

hodor

Songster
Nov 6, 2015
Australia
Hello,

Currently I have only two chickens after losing one to a fox, so I have just got another. Perhaps wrongly I have skipped quarantine, I know the owner it came from and it is only a block from my place

The flock (if you can call it that) is an Ancona and Araucana and have just got barred rock to replace the one I lost. Set up is a day run where the new chicken can have some space on grass and a small night cage with a log to perch on, not a lot of space past food and water, its secure though. For the first hour the Ancona didn't move away from the new hen and tried attacking through the wire a few times and then lost interest. I'll keep this up for a few days.

The Ancona lost a few neck feathers before I managed to chase off the fox so I think she is extra skittish, the Araucana is super relaxed. Happy I didn't lose them all.

As this is my first time introducing a chicken to a flock I was wonder how much fighting is normal to establish the pecking order once they have access? I read somewhere that you have to let them work it out and fight a bit and to separate if blood is drawn, seems a bit brutal. Is there any other advice?

There is gonna be bloodshed more then likely,just let them work out,if the fights continuing for an obvious long amount of time,you may need to Seperate

I have had my new birds in a sectioned off (with wire) in the coop with food and water with my former birds for 3 weeks now. Planning on taking down the wire in about a week. Introductions take time with chickens. Can't just put them together and expect them to give hugs and kisses, there will be pecks and bashes. At least after seeing the newbies for almost a month now the beatings will not be as bad as they would if I simply plopped them in front of each other. They also have to establish the pecking order, they are on the bottom right now..

I'll keep this up for a few days.