How long can chicks stay in incubator?

justin742

In the Brooder
Aug 28, 2021
Massachusetts
We are at day 22 of incubation.

Temp is 99.5 humidity is 68%-72%

I ordered 10 buff orpington eggs, and after candling ended up with 7 that looked good & healthy 2 days before lockdown. I have 2 chicks that are active and one hatched about 24 hrs ago and the other about 16hrs, still have 4 others waiting to pip. The eggs were shipped to me, and I’m new to hatching, but have been raising chicks since 2010. I just don’t want to ruin any other potential hatchers for change in temp and humidity if I were to move them to the brooder. I’ve done a lot of googling and it spans from 24h to 72h so here I am.

Beware pics of cuteness overload :jumpy

Attachments

• B93C9545-3B62-46A3-BE01-2CECC5709AAD.jpeg
    B93C9545-3B62-46A3-BE01-2CECC5709AAD.jpeg
    420.8 KB · Views: 118
  • 4351227A-CBE0-46A2-AFC3-B57E804FF833.jpeg
    4351227A-CBE0-46A2-AFC3-B57E804FF833.jpeg
    403.8 KB · Views: 25
Last edited:
There are definitely different opinions about when to take chicks out. I take anyone who is dry out about 24 hours after the first hatch. Then 24 hours later remove any more that have hatched and dried. Occasionally I need to get a trailer out after that. If you are concerned about humidity add mist to the air or a wet paper towel inside the incubator. The chicks are ok for 48 hours or longer without food or water, but opening the incubator is not harmful for a short time, so I like many like to move the chicks out to eat and drink and keep them from bothering new hatches.