How high off coop floor for nesting boxes

Yellowcoop1

Chirping
5 Years
Jun 13, 2014
Hi all,

Another rookie question. I will be buying little giant nesting boxes for my hens and I am wondering what the ideal height off of the coop floor is to place these nesting boxes.

Thanks,
Vicki

Hi all,

Another rookie question. I will be buying little giant nesting boxes for my hens and I am wondering what the ideal height off of the coop floor is to place these nesting boxes.

Thanks,
Vicki
I'm not an expert, but the information I have found is that you want it below the height of your roosts. Chickens will roost in the highest spot they can find and you don't want them roosting in/on the nest boxes.

Above the floor, but below the roosts. I built an amish style coop which had the nest boxes on the floor, I added an 8" board as a divider to keep coop floor and nest box shavings separate. In retrospect I don't like the Amish coop, it looks nice, but too involved to build.

I realize that isn't a specific answer, but hope it helps you.

Alex

Every bit of information helps thank you. I'm going to have an 8 x 8 coop, the left side will be arranged with a poop board about waist high and this is something I've taken from another poster here, I'm going to fill it with sweet PDZ. the opposite side of the coop will be the nesting boxes and I will probably put them up 12 inches off the ground. if that sounds right to everybody. Please feel free to chime in and let me know if I'm on track with the 12 inches because that will be a little less than halfway up from the height of the poop board. Roosting bar will probably go about 12 inches above the poop board and may be a little more than that in case I get the chicken with Long feathers.

Last edited: