Gordons Pasture Pro Plus weed and feed and chickens/guineas

AppyChick77

Chirping
Jul 17, 2020
I need to deweed and fertilize my horse pastures, the pastures that my chickens and guineas free range in. In the past I have used Gordons Pasture Pro Plus with great success, but that was before I had my birds. The buttercups are going crazy here in TN. Does anyone know if this is safe for the birds to graze on? If it is not, what can I use that won't kill the grass and will take out the weeds that I can spray as a liquid for 8 acres? https://www.tractorsupply.com/tsc/product/gordons-pasture-pro-plus-one-step-weed-feed-15-0-0-2-1-2-gal . This is my first year with free ranging birds

The horses and birds are not enough fertilizer?
Why are buttercups a problem?
I would not want my animals eating 2,4-D...or any other herbicide.
Tho I don't really know if and/or how it's detrimental to them,
might want to call your local agricultural extension.

2,4,D is potent stuff, implicated in causing cancer in man and beast, and best used nearly never, IMO. Have you read it's MSDS?
Buttercups ain't good either, and many fields do get treated with that stuff often, it's just not best. And definitely not because it will find it's way into any eggs you will be eating...
I don't know what alternatives there are, maybe check with your ag extension office, at least.
Mary

The horses and birds are not enough fertilizer?
Why are buttercups a problem?
Buttercups are toxic to horses. They wont eat them unless they dont have anything else as they dont taste good. The buttercups also grow really fast and tall and will coverup the grass so it cant grow well. It is a nuisance plant that can ruin a good pasture quick. While I do use my manure spreader with the horse manure for the pasture, it still needs lyme and fertilizer every few years...and its that time.