Eating (fertilized?) duck eggs

MayorQuimby

Chirping
6 Years
Nov 15, 2016
New to the site so I hope I put this in the right place.

I have a male and two female muscovy ducks. I'm new to raising ducks and I must be the only idiot that wonders this because I cannot find the answer anywhere:

When the girls start laying, do I need to be concerned that I'll eat an egg that has been fertilized by the male? Is it as simple as just grabbing the egg and throwing it in the skillet, or do I need to do something to make sure there isn't a baby duck growing inside the egg? Or do you just eat the egg either way as long as you grab it before it has time to grow into anything?

I've read that you can shine a light through it to see veins, do you folks do this and inspect every egg?

New to the site so I hope I put this in the right place.

I have a male and two female muscovy ducks. I'm new to raising ducks and I must be the only idiot that wonders this because I cannot find the answer anywhere:

When the girls start laying, do I need to be concerned that I'll eat an egg that has been fertilized by the male? Is it as simple as just grabbing the egg and throwing it in the skillet, or do I need to do something to make sure there isn't a baby duck growing inside the egg? Or do you just eat the egg either way as long as you grab it before it has time to grow into anything?

I've read that you can shine a light through it to see veins, do you folks do this and inspect every egg?

Welcome to BYC!