Do I have to use a wood floor for my duck house?

austroberta

Songster
5 Years
Oct 1, 2017
Oakland CA
My ducklings are 6-1/2 weeks old, feathered quite nicely and we're all ready for them to make their move to the big house. Most of the duck houses I've seen have been elevated and with wooden floors. I was hoping to use the deep litter method and wanted to avoid elevating the house. My plan is to put hardware cloth beneath the inside of the house, packing decomposed granite that I have from another gardening project on top of that and then putting my regular shavings on top. .

The actual frame of the house will be on concrete blocks and I plan on treating the wood on all sides with a wood preservative.

I'm new to this, so I'm hoping to hear comments/suggestions from folks who've been there done that.

Thanks so much!

Not sure wbere ya are located, but here our ducks are on dirt. We use the deep bedding method and use hay....bermuda is what is sold here....they have been on hay since we got them as day olds, about a year and a half ago. Our duck area is under the chicken house that does have a wood floor. I have hardware cloth around the entire bottom with about a 6" lip on the outside, all the way around. When I clean it out, I let it air dry and the ducks the opportunity to gather whatever bugs they can find...then before I put them in for the night I redo the bedding with fresh hay. It has worked just fine for us here...year round....but, it doesn't get cold enough for the ground to freeze much either....our frostline is only about a foot deep.

Thanks for your response! I'm here in Oakland California, and we rarely get frosts, let alone freezing weather.

Does the wood on the frame rot? Is it directly on the ground?

Thanks!