Compost tumbler for chicken droppings

ZMamagoose

Chirping
May 13, 2018
I've never composted before and this is my first summer with chickens and I have come to realize that there are a lot of shavings that need to be taken care of. I'm using an already made Coop that was on the property I am renting and it holds up to 50 chickens and I have 8. So it takes a lot of pine shavings and straw to fill the cemented bottom floor and I realize to clean it out is going to have a lot of pine shavings to take care of so composting might be a better option then trying to throw them out. I have no experience with this so I thought maybe a tumbler compost bin would be the easiest route to go, I'm curious if anyone has use these and their thoughts on them?!

I'm also curious how often people clean their coops out, and if they clean it out completely and add all new fresh stuff or just lay new fresh stuff over the old stuff

Problem with wood shavings is they don't seem to compost great. I do use shavings in the nest box though, so when I clean out the coop both the shavings and the coop litter (wood chips) get raked into the run, where it becomes part of the run litter. I clean out the coop "as needed" which for my old coop was about every other month, but might only be twice a year for my new coop.

Problem with wood shavings is they don't seem to compost great. I do use shavings in the nest box though, so when I clean out the coop both the shavings and the coop litter (wood chips) get raked into the run, where it becomes part of the run litter. I clean out the coop "as needed" which for my old coop was about every other month, but might only be twice a year for my new coop.
What would be a better option on the floor?

I'm a big fan of wood chips in the coop but depending on what you have available you can do a different mix of plant materials. Like dried leaves compost amazingly well, though you'd need a lot of leafy trees around to get enough to fill up a run or a coop.