Chicks with dry(?) pox!

mauichickies

In the Brooder
May 26, 2019
Hi everyone, this is my first time posting here and I’m not the most experienced chicken owner so please pardon any ignorance. I want to do the best I can for them and I’ve been doing a ton of reading on here. I also apologize for the long post, I just want to make sure I share whatever information I can.

I have 6 chicks that are maybe 3-4 weeks old with what I believe is dry pox. They originally weren’t really mine, they just lived in our yard with their mama, but I noticed the pox getting bad and I also noticed them disappearing / probably dying off (started with 12) so I took them under my care for now 3 or 4 days ago. Their mother had stopped caring for them anyways and they’ve been living on their own. I had an additional one in my care which appeared to be one of the healthier ones, but the other night it very suddenly started making noises and I found it on its back. I picked it up gently and it seemed to be having seizures or something, and then it died in my arms. It was horrible and I cried all night.

Two chicks have minor scabbing right underneath an eye and they overall appear a lot healthier, so I separated them from the others but will still keep an eye on them. Out of the remaining four, two have both eyes covered by scabs. One of them now has teeny tiny holes in the center of the scabs, so maybe it can see a little better? Most of them have some scabbing on the side(s) of the mouth. The two with their eyes covered are the same size and smaller than the other two, so I’ve been especially focused on helping them eat.