LoveToBirds

Hatching
Apr 6, 2023
Hello there,

I could really use an advice from people who have geese and had experience with injuries in the ankle area. I have lots of experience with chickens but none with geese.
I saw this poor little guy in a park. He hopped on one leg, raising the other. I brought him home, examined the bones and they seemed intact, but obviously the area where the joint is was very swollen (no open wounds). Calls to various vets, wild animal rehabs did not yield anything. So, I decided to give it a try. (Also, as a part of the back story, my friend saw that same goose two weeks (or more) prior in the park - which means the injury was not recent when I brought him home.)

I applied a splint for two weeks. As you can see in a video he started walking with the splint on, after almost two weeks. Then I took the splint off on day 16 to examine the foot. The joint looked still swollen, but a bit less. It seemed stiff, but I noticed slight bending (- very slight) when the goose walked. He seemed to have walked much better with the splint on, and now he is not wanting to walk very well without it. Did I take off the split too early? I think I should put the splint back on for another week or two?

Today I have have started reading on this forum what else I can do for the little goose. I also downloaded the splinting manual that @casportpony kindly shared, and I did read just now what it says about joint injuries. But this little goose started to walk!! - which is huge, since he did not walk before. I am hoping he can get better and still have a good life in the wild.

Were two weeks too short of a time for such an injury to heal? Should he be walking on his foot or stay in his crate? He really seems to enjoy spreading and flapping his wings. Also he loves to swim in the kiddie pool I've set up for him in my garage a day ago.

He is not eating super well. What do I feed a wild goose?