Can i treat a niacin deficiency with just nutritional yeast alone?

Danialaska

In the Brooder
Apr 3, 2022
Hello,
I am new to raising ducklings, one of my ducklings is showing signs of a niacin deficiency. I order some injectable B3, but it won't be here for a week. I live in rural Alaska, and unfortunately we have no feed stores.
I have been adding nutritional yeast to their food. She is unfortunately not eating much, but I have had luck with her drinking a spoonful of nutritional yeast dissolved in warm water.

My question, will feeding her this mixture of nutritional yeast and water a few times a day treat the problem? Or is nutritional yeast only a prevention not treatment?

Thank you!

It should help until you get the B. I'm worried she's not eating properly. That's not niacin deficiency. It manifests in the legs.
She has a hard time getting to the food, and sits down more frequently, or just is overall very clumsy. She is eating but not as much as my others, (they are 6 days old). She is quite small compared to the others. Her eyes aren't open and wide like the others, they look more tired. I am very new to this, so I appreciate any thoughts or input!

Hello,
I am new to raising ducklings, one of my ducklings is showing signs of a niacin deficiency. I order some injectable B3, but it won't be here for a week. I live in rural Alaska, and unfortunately we have no feed stores.
I have been adding nutritional yeast to their food. She is unfortunately not eating much, but I have had luck with her drinking a spoonful of nutritional yeast dissolved in warm water.

My question, will feeding her this mixture of nutritional yeast and water a few times a day treat the problem? Or is nutritional yeast only a prevention not treatment?

Thank you!
could you find some niacin tablets for sale? They might be more available and can help. Flush effect niacin pills, not flush free.