Best Meat Birds for HOT climate!

TexasGoatGal

In the Brooder
8 Years
May 11, 2011
Hi, I'm just starting out with chickens, and I'd like to get some meat birds in addition to egg layers.

I've been reading a number of the posts here, and it appears that the CornishX don't do real well in the heat - is this a correct conclusion for what I've been reading?

I live deep in south west Texas, where the temp can get to 110+ in the summer months, and we do have some humidity. I have barn areas where I can provide shade for the chickens, but I'm wondering which breeds will flourish best in this type of environment?

Would you suggest that I use a dual purpose breed instead of the meat birds, given the heat? Or should I just plan to not keep meat birds during the hotter months, processing everything by say the first of June, and then waiting until September to start up again?

Thanks for you input, I appreciate all of your suggestions!

Being in the high desert of Central Cal.,( summer temps reached 114-117* for 3 weeks straight) I raised the Cornish X to 6-8 weeks of age in batches of 25 , one each in the spring, fall and winter and send them to freezer camp. Why raise a chicken for 18-24 weeks to get less meat per bird than the Cornish X if I don't have to ? This way I get the HOT summer off .

I haven't raised them yet but we are in AZ...everything I have researched told me this as well. I will be doing it in spring and fall and taking the summers off.