A coop without windows ?

toadh4

In the Brooder
Apr 9, 2017
On our property we have begun to repair an 8 by 10 foot former chicken coop with 2 small chicken entrance doors but no windows. It has been used for outdoor storage needs.we plan to replace the damaged areas of the exterior walls with plywood and then vinyl side the building. My husband is considering use of it to begin chickens in future. Does a coop need windows? if not need then does it benefit to have them?

I am no expert but I believe a coop needs windows one for light a d other for circulation. I would have 1/2 wire mesh instead of an actual window. I don't know where you live but in Texas we need air circulation. It's Hot! I have expanded steel for my floor and a large window area actually with 1/2 in wire mesh. And air flows well. My chickens go in there even during the day because I think it's cooler air flows up from the bottom.

Some light would definitely be helpful and without pictures, I doubt the chicken doors would be sufficient. The coop is an area that chickens will spend some time in during the day, at least during inclement weather, when colder and when laying eggs. Walk into the coop, close the main door and open the two chicken doors to get an idea of what it would be like.

There are multiple solutions for light:
  • Windows- glass or swing open with hardware cloth (1/2" mesh) to keep out predators.
  • Skylights.
  • Electric lighting- wired or solar with timers.
At least as important is good ventilation. At night when they are all sleeping and even in winter, they need airflow to allow moisture to escape. Any vents/openings should be able to keep out predators. Again, hardware cloth is good for this.

Use hardware cloth instead of cheap chicken wire. The latter is good for keeping chickens in, but not keeping predators (raccoons, possums, etc) out as this thread sadly proves.