5 wk Cornish X w/ Raspy Breathing & the runs. Cull & eat?

RubysMomFP

In the Brooder
9 Years
Mar 24, 2010
Hey There,

I'm new at raising chickens. I have Cornish Xs & layers (raised separately, of course). One of my meaties (5 wks) has had wet, raspy breathing for a week or so now. It was mild at first and now has gotten to be quite audible. He has runny poo, not bloody, and a "skid mark" down its rear end. That skid mark has been there for maybe 2 weeks now. He's eating, drinking, is alert and seems comfortable. His weight is good.

I don't think the raspy breathing is going to stop. The other 11 meaties are fine, as are my pullets on the otherside of the coop, which is divided down the middle w/ chix wire. There is one other meatie with a "skid mark", but no raspy breathing. I believe the raspy breathing and runny poo are unrelated.

So what do you think? Should I cull now rather than risk the bird dying? Can you eat a chicken that exhibits these symptoms?

Thanks,
Lauren

Last edited:
When I move my meaties from the brooder to the tractor, I usually note some loose stool coming from them. I attribute this to a modification of diet. Even though I still give them the starter as food, they now have access to bugs, grass, and other vegetable matter. It usually clears up after a few days to a week. I also notice that when I restrict their food complete, prior to processing, so their digestive tracts are cleaned out, they "poop" out mainly liquids. That makes sense because that's all they're getting into them at that point.

If the bird doesn't seem to be in distress I'd watch him for a day or two and then re-evaluate. Cornish X's are prone to heart conditions as well as other ailments and if it starts to exhibit other symptoms, like lameness or not walking/standing, then I'd process asap.

Dan