Eggs in different stages of development?

apollora

Songster
11 Years
Apr 18, 2013
Walla Walla, WA
Hi All!

Hoping to get some help on an incubation puzzle.

The eggs I ordered ended up being too many for my Brinsea Octagon 28 incubator so I went down to my local farm store and purchased a styrofoam Little Giant still air bator.

All eggs were set at the same time and I followed the shippers instructions on incubating at a lower humidity since they are dark eggs (Marans).

Apart from the air cells being way too large for day 15 it also appears that some of the eggs are not as developed as the rest.

Most of the eggs are mostly dark with movement as I would expect at this stage but several of them are significantly smaller but are still moving around like crazy.

So my question is, can you have such a significant difference in development within the same incubator? I’ve never had this problem with my Brinsea.

I’m by no means an expert but I’ve had excellent hatch rates with the Brinsea over the last 5 years or so.

Thank you in advance for any input!

Are the eggs with apparent different growth rates in the Brinsea or LG or both?
To start off, get the humidity way up in the one with the too large air cells.
The slower eggs may have been stored longer than the others. Each day of storage lengthens the incubation time by an hour or two.

The difference in growth rate are all in the LG. All the eggs in my Brinsea are doing fantastic.

I filled most of the channels in the LG last night, I will make sure to increase the humidity as much as I can.

That’s interesting about the storage of eggs, I didn’t realize that it would delay their growth that much.

Thank you!

OK, then I think I know what the problem is. In a still air, especially a square on like a LG, not only do you have thermal stratification from high to low, you also have cool and warm spots. I would swap the position of all the advanced ones with the retarded ones.