Will my chickens destroy my grass if they are in a portable run?

thefeatherlady

In the Brooder
5 Years
Apr 28, 2014
I'm new at chicken raising and I'm trying to figure out if my lawn will get ruined (I live in the city) if I keep my free range chicks in a portable run and move it around. How often should I move the run? I'm not as concerned with the poop as I am about having my grass ruined. I also need to know if I build a 3' x 4' run for my 2 chicks, will this be large enough for them and how will I get them in and out easily? I'm older and can't lift much weight which is why the run would be smaller. I would be very grateful for any ideas or suggestions.

Like most things, he answer is "it depends". The more often you move the coop, the better for the grass, even just 2 chickens can be hard on a small patch of grass, so either more space or more frequent moving solves that. If done right, your grass should look better (bug control and free fertilizer).

Some things you need to consider besides just the total space available:
- roosting area that is safe from drafts and predators
- where will the nest boxes go (anything directly on the ground kills grass faster than the chickens can)
- feeder in a rain-protected area
- if you hang the feeder and waterer, that is better for not killing the grass, but makes the structure heavier for moving
- make sure you can access the whole area without crawling inside (removable top?)
- what happens if a strong wind comes along, will it become a kite and blow across the street (happened to me, that's why I'm mentioning it)