Why did my chicks die in the shell?

egg-inator

Hatching
Feb 25, 2021
Hi. I'm new to BYC and incubation. I've got a 36-egg incubator that turns the eggs every 2 hrs. For my test batch, I put in 3 budgie eggs and 2 bantam eggs. (The budgie eggs were neglected. I usually just give them to other hens to foster, but thought I'd try incubating them.) I had the temp. at 37.5 °C and RH at around 48-50% and then 70% at lockdown. All the eggs developed pretty well. I candled and weighed them once a day. The air cells looked well-developed. The weight loss was 13-14% at lockdown. Hatchday was almost 2 weeks ago. Budg1 hatched and is healthy, but Budg2 zipped about 90% of the way and then died in the shell. I think Budg3 drowned. As for the bantam eggs, Ban1 hatched on time and is also healthy, although I had to assist 'cuz he got shrink wrapped after pipping. Can that happen even if the bator was never opened? When I helped Ban1, I candled Ban2 and suspected it had already died but left it in there just in case. Two days later it still didn't hatch so I did an eggtopsy. Its head was pointed toward the narrow end of the egg. The yolk was unabsorbed. Can anyone tell me what might've gone wrong with Budg2, Budg3 and Ban2? I live in the tropics if that info is of any use. I feel bad because they made it almost to the finish line. The first one was a small batch but I now have another 12 budgie eggs and 15 bantam eggs in the bator. The eggs weren't all set at the same time, though. I had ordered a smaller bator during the early parts of the first incubation and it only just arrived on hatchday. I'm gonna use that one as the lockdown bator. Any advice on what else I should do would be much appreciated. Thanks in advance. :)

have you got an additional thermometer to double check the temperature in the incubator?
I know you set the incubator probe to 37.5 degrees but it might be running a bit hot.