Who’s to blame? Hen pecked or randy roo?

Aminorjourney

Hatching
Nov 14, 2020
Hello there! i’m relatively new to the chicken mama game, and we started our flock earlier this year. I grew up on a farm so I’m not a stranger to chickens, but…

When the weather is good here in rural Oregon, my flock of six hens and one rooster get free range of the yard. When the weather is not so good, they stay in their covered run adjacent to their coop.

All the hens are now laying, most every day, and they all have a really good temperament. To date they’ve picked on our lavender Orpington mainly as being the lowest in the flock pecking order, but they seem to have sorted out the pecking order pretty well, and I haven’t seen any egregious attacks from one hen to another. Our rooster on the other hand, a Red laced blue Wyandotte, has been known to be a little.... Rapey.... from time to time.

Most of the hens now know how to handle him, but I know both our Buff Orpington and Lavendar Orpington give him a lot of space. Three of our other hens (cream legbar, brown leghorn and black copper marans) have enough of an attitude to scare him if he misbehaves, and our lumbering Dark Brahma is almost as big as he is.

Tonight, I discover Marie, our Buff, had some feathers missing on her saddle. There’s a nasty scab formed too.

I’ve cleaned the area and sprayed some blu kote, but didn’t want to upset the scab as it seemed okay.

She doesn’t seem too bothered by it, and has a crop full of food, bright eyes and heathy comb.

As I didn’t put them to bed last night (my partner did) I don’t know if this was today or yesterday. When I let them out into the run (it’s been raining all day) she seemed okay. She’s been hanging with the other hens and when I checked her out I could feel she

Not sure if she layed today though... I had one Orpington egg but can’t tell which one it was from.