Which NJ Towns permit backyard chickens?

Valerie Reis

Hatching
Feb 24, 2020
I am a relatively new realtor in central and north NJ. I am getting this question more frequently.
Can anyone share info on towns that do permit, and DON'T permit chickens?
If you know any additional specifics such as # of hens allowed, min acreage etc I would be grateful for the information. I have made several call to various town officials who should know these answers, but I am finding that the codes are unclear or they just don't know.
thanks in advance for the help!

Hello there and welcome to BYC! :frow

I moved your thread to our Laws and Ordanances section here for better response. Good luck, I hope you can keep poultry!! :)

It’s good you are seeking out information for your clients!

I am in Ohio, so I don’t really know NJ. However, from reading on BYC, rules can vary by city,township, county.

In general, HOAs are unfriendly to livestock, however, some are open to things like this, but always will be stated in the bylaws. One BYC posting indicated that an HOA they had lived in allowed chickens up to a certain number and as related to 4-H, so kids were able raise limited livestock for the purpose of education. Most BYC posters indicate most HOAs specifically ban livestock.

often rules can be found online for a city or similar, look into ordinances. It may only be a line or two pertaining to livestock and may or may not specify poultry. It may state livestock not allowed, except for x or y.

if rural, there may be no restrictions, or they may have to have a certain size lot.