What to do about my roosters mating habits.

MABEchicks

Chirping
Jun 5, 2017
Hi! I’m new to chickens and definitely wasn’t expecting to keep a rooster. Since we did I’ve enjoyed the comfort of knowing he’s with them when they are free ranging. I have 5 hens and 1 rooster. My hens are Barred Rocks and ISA Browns and my rooster is a Bantam Silkie. I kept him because I figured he’d be smallish and he was always an odd ball so I liked him. Recently I’ve noticed red bare spots on the back of one of my rocks and I’ve noticed bare spots on some of my ISAs that arnt red but starting to lose feathers. Anyways, it’s at the base of their wings so aprons don’t cover it. My rock looks so bad I feel awful. They just turned 1yo, so he is mature now. They are laying eggs perfectly normal. They don’t seem scared of him. I mean they don’t lay down for him to mount them (should they?) it always seems to be him dancing next to them then grabbing them kinda forcefully but then they don’t run away from him after. I just don’t know if he’s an aggressive mating rooster or his nails are just too long (he has messed up extra toes that are high up and don’t touch the ground so the nails are very sharp and I am going to trim them) I noticed they are what is making the bald spots on the base of the wings. He has started to “Attack” us sometimes, he doesn’t have spurs and he’s small so it’s noting scary, and not all the time, since we started letting them free range, and it’s mostly just with my boyfriend. I know he’s just showing his dominance and we are working on that. Anyways, the girls don’t seem to be scared of him but they still don’t willingly let him mate with them, is he being aggressive if they don’t LET HIM mate? And anything I should do about the red marks? Should I separate her for a few days? I don’t know. Any help would be great. Thanks!
114F3F31-64CE-4D9F-8124-DDEC552CA99B.jpeg
B6CF48AE-66DC-47C6-AB4B-50C8F205CDB9.jpeg
7C396CAE-C051-44A7-B990-07FB3A78B26F.jpeg