Treating Gapeworms with Safe-guard in Poultry

BonBon51

Hatching
Jul 15, 2019
Salado, TX
My Ameraucana has been displaying signs of gapeworms for over a week. This is my first time to treat something like this. Using Safe-guard but I read a post saying to get 4-5 horse hairs, make a loop, and then twist tightly. Insert this in the trechea of the chicken, twist, and you can remove the worms. This gives the bird immediate relief. Has anyone tried this?

What signs is your bird showing?
Have you recently brought any new birds home?
Have you ever had respiratory illness in your flock?

What signs is your bird showing?
Have you recently brought any new birds home?
Have you ever had respiratory illness in your flock?
First she was staying in the coop and then I noticed a mucus from her beak and gurgling sound. I thought respiratory infection. Treated with VetRx. She got worse. Quite eating and drinking. Now she stands extending her neck with her mouth open gaping for air. I checked for canker in mouth but no signs of that. I bought Safe-guard today and began treating her. Giving her water and protein drink with a syringe.

Also, have no new birds in flock. I can only have 6 birds total in the city limits. Have not had a respiratory illness before. My girls are the ambiance to my bed and breakfast so I keep them very clean and well fed. They free range so I'm sure they've eaten some slugs, snails, etc.

First she was staying in the coop and then I noticed a mucus from her beak and gurgling sound. I thought respiratory infection. Treated with VetRx. She got worse. Quite eating and drinking. Now she stands extending her neck with her mouth open gaping for air. I checked for canker in mouth but no signs of that. I bought Safe-guard today and began treating her. Giving her water and protein drink with a syringe.
I think you are dealing with a respiratory illness and not gapeworms.
Vetrx is basically like Vick's vaporub. It's pretty worthless.