Showing Silkies

BaileyJean

Songster
7 Years
Mar 20, 2012
Kentucky
My Coop
My Coop
I am hoping to show some of my birds at the Kentucky State Fair this year. I have read the rules, and gotten my entry forms. On the entry form we need to enter the birds Brand/ear #. What is this? I do not have any sort of identification on my birds, because I can tell them apart. I am completely new at this and kind of lost :) What would the benefit joining the APA (I will be a junior exhibitor)? I have some chicks that will be 6 months old at fair time, should I also bring these?
Thank you

I am hoping to show some of my birds at the Kentucky State Fair this year. I have read the rules, and gotten my entry forms. On the entry form we need to enter the birds Brand/ear #. What is this? I do not have any sort of identification on my birds, because I can tell them apart. I am completely new at this and kind of lost :) What would the benefit joining the APA (I will be a junior exhibitor)? I have some chicks that will be 6 months old at fair time, should I also bring these?
Thank you

HI there.

Your birds will have to have a leg band number to be shown. Most feed stores will carry them. Even though silkies are small, you will need a standard sized leg band. THey are like $1 a piece or less and each bird will need their own. You have to put a band on them and use the number on the band for your entries. Without it, they cannot be shown. Usually birds just have to be over 4 months, so your younger birds can come too.

Are you just doing exhibition or showmanship as well?

Quote:
Ok ,I will get some leg bands to put on them. The bands are permanent, right? Does the band affect their leg feathering? I soo excited that I can bring the younger birds!!
I do not know if I am going to show in showmanship, there was nothing on the show entry form about that.
Thank you for your help!!