ChickenLadyLaura

In the Brooder
Jul 19, 2018
Hi everyone! We have 13 hens of various breeds at our house and a Silkie rooster. We thought we had a BCM hen but turns out he's a rooster. Would these 2 roosters be ok together or is it best to just sell one?

I'm new to this so take what I have to say for what you paid...
I started with three cockerels and 8 pullets, that I knew was not okay so one had to go and go he went.
I hoped that two cockerels would work out but no fun for any of us, including one of the cockerels, so go he went.
Now I have eight pullets and one cockerel, I believe I made the right choice of cockerel to keep, he does his job well and does not stress the pullets at all...He's actually a nice bird.
There is a certain harmony in the hen house now that just was not possible with more than one house boss.
So that is my answer to you, No I do not believe it to be possible with a small flock like mine, YMMV.

I also am not so sure on how much money you think you might SELL your cockerels for, I could not GIVE AWAY mine, they were beautiful polish cockerels as well.

Good luck with your decisions and enjoy your flock once you've reached your goal.

The answer is a firm MAYBE. A lot of things come into play. Do you free range? Do you have adequate space and hiding places? Multiple feed and water locations are a good idea. Even if you do everything right though, it's still going to be a maybe. It's up to your particular birds to either coexist or not. The easiest approach is just to rehome one of them, but that's a decision you'll have to make. They very well could do fine and then again, 6 months from now you could come home to a dead silky.