Red Swollen Vent Area, Egg bound?warning: graphic photos

chickenfriend345

Hatching
Dec 11, 2021
Hello, my house mate's chicken is acting very unwell. Her vent area is very red and extremely swollen. Her feathers are puffed and she is lethargic. I emailed a vet- but its satruday so not sure if I will get a response. I am caring for my housemate's flock while he tends to an emergency. I have some experience with chickens over the years and have been a vet assistant. I am very comfortable handling and treating animals. If there is anything anyone recommends to bring her some relief I feel capable of attempting it. She is part of an egg laying flock (though they have just started laying).

Attachments

• IMG_2759.jpg
    IMG_2759.jpg
    415.5 KB · Views: 377
  • IMG_2758.jpg
    IMG_2758.jpg
    716 KB · Views: 277
Yikes. I would first wash her bum. Chicken poop can cause irritation to the skin. It will also be easier to tell what you are dealing with. Afterwards, I wiuld coat the area with ORIGINAL neosporin WITHOUT pain relief. It keeps the area moist and helps with infection. I know this is important for prolapses and flystrike, but I am not an expert and I don't know what she has exactly.

I will tag @Wyorp Rock who is an expert in this field and will be able to help you further.