Opps..... Looks like my rabbit might be pregnant!

DancingWthDucks

Songster
7 Years
Feb 21, 2016
Cumbria, UK
Today I let my Mini Lop doe, Flora (1.5 years old) out into the garden, for exercise, and whilst I was inside, my Holland Lop buck, Thistle (3/4 years) managed to escape from his hutch..... Before I managed to catch them, Thistle mated and fell off Flora twice :/. Flora has had a couple 'false pregnancies' in the past, and Thistle try's to mate with EVERYTHING in his reach (ducks, shoes, washing, people's legs, etc).

I'm a newbie to all this rabbit breeding stuff and any advice would be REALLY apprieciated. A few questions:

-What are the chances of her being pregnant?
-How can I find out if she is?

Thanks,

Charlotte.

I'd say your chances are 50/50
and you will find out when she delivers!

Seriously though..I'm not sure.

Assuming Thistle is fertile and the doe isn't too fat to conceive (and doesn't have any other reproductive problem), she is most likely pregnant. Fall offs generally mean a buck has successfully bred a doe.

You may be able to tell if your doe is pregnant when she is about 14 days along by palpating her. Gently but firmly squeeze her abdomen, reaching up toward the backbone. If she is pregnant, you may feel small grape-like objects. However, palpating can be a challenging skill, and even if you feel nothing, that doesn't mean she isn't pregnant.

If you weigh your doe regularly, if she is pregnant, you should also notice some weight increase. The amount gained varies from rabbit to rabbit and from pregnancy to pregnancy, though. Some of my large Sable does have gained as much as a pound while pregnant, some only a few ounces. Weight change with smaller breeds may be less noticeable.