Only 1 egg a day from 6 hens !

choptank330

Songster
11 Years
Jul 31, 2012
Roanoke, Virginia
I have 6 hens, I am only getting one egg a day. The hens are all around 8-9 months old except one she is two, So i dont expect a egg from her every day. I believe that only one of them is laying because its the same looking egg everyday and its always layed before 10 am. If anyone could give me some advice of what is going on. I am new to chickens :(

Since we in North America are going through the darkest period of the year, with the shortest days of the year, the photo reactive chicken has a hard time laying a bunch of eggs. This is nature's way. Everything in nature "rests" in the winter. The chicken will too. If you feel inclined to push them, you can provide a few hours artificial lighting, say from 4-8 am, using a simple bulb and an inexpensive timer.

here is what egg looks like

2 blk australorps

1 RIR

1 New Hampshire

1 Buff

1 Wyndotte/RIR (lay a white egg )
I am feeling you man. I am also new to chickens and I have 2 roosters, 4 hens and 7 chicks and I only get one egg a day sometimes 3 days in a row, sometimes every other day.

I know only one of my hens is laying. I think that one is too old, one is too young, one is laying, and the other is still broody over the totally feathered almost as big as her chicks. I am a week away from taking her chicks from her so she'll go back to being a chicken...that and she looks ridiculous trying to sit on 7 chicks that are almost her size.

Last edited:
probably not the same chicken laying either, they have a 24 hour cycle, and don't lay everyday at the same time like that for very long...
Winter means less light and less eggs being laid, that is a good thing, the chickens need to rest also. I do not put artificial light in my coop to get more eggs, I don't think that is healthy or normal for the chickens... but to each his own I guess.