New hen has lump in chest and is acting very lethargic!

jodievaughan

Songster
5 Years
Dec 29, 2016
i just rescued 3 ex later (free range) hens from slaughter two days ago, and this morning I’ve noticed one is acting very sluggish. She didn’t leave the perch like the others and instead closed her eyes. When I picked her up to take her out with the rest of them, I noticed she has id say an egg-sized lump on her front which feels quite firm, below her neck. She’s not eating and is meanlessly pecking around the feed tray not actually picking any food up. Moving slowly, slower than normal reactions to me picking her up and that sort of thing. What could this be and what shall I do? I’d really appreciate any insight or help!

I’m no expert at these kinds of things, there’s got to be someone who knows more out there but I’ll try to help.
Maybe you can gently pry her beak open and look inside? If there is a local vet nearby you can take her there. That’s always my suggestion when you don’t know what to do. If she can swallow liquid, guide her to drink some water so at least she wouldn’t be dehydrated.
Not all hens at the slaughterhouse are healthy, who knows what diseases they had there, and what the people did to them there. Take her to a vet to figure out what’s really going on.
Good luck with your hen!:fl

Is the lump above or below her crop?
20180829_070703.png

If her crop is hard and not emptying properly then she could impacted crop. Were they given long grass lately or any access to hay or straw? These things can get caught in the crop and tangled up preventing digestion and the crop from emptying.
20180829_070737.png