New babies, unknown breed and one little sick one?

Birdcrazy

Songster
10 Years
Dec 21, 2009
Australia
Hi everyone!

So, my incubated eggs just hatched! Super exciting, because I haven't had chickens in a few years now! :wee

Also, it's my first time incubating, usually just have a reliable broody! 8 babies - no idea what breeds. One is a bantam, smaller, fuzzy legs, extra toes.

The last two eggs to hatch were a little late, a black and yellow baby, I pulled from the incubator and put in the brooder. The black is doing great. Little yellow chick was very weak - never seemed to recover from hatching. Survived the night, but spent the entire time just continuously opening and closing her little beak. She did hatch by herself fine (I think, I wasn't actually home, but it looked normal in there). I haven't assisted any, or opened the incubator etc, just let them do their thing.

I pulled her away from the others and kept her warm, but as I am writing this I think she may have passed. :( Any idea what might of happened? What could have gone wrong? Should have I left her in the incubator longer?
IMG_3587.JPG
IMG_3540.JPG
IMG_3587.JPG

Congrats on the babies. I don't have much experience but for the suck baby I would try to get some sugar water or water with electrolytes in that one asap. Just dip her little beak in it to get her to drink (if she hasn't passed- I hope not. If so I'm very sorry). It wouldn't hurt to do it for all of them tho to help get them started. The 5 toe baby with feathered feet could be a silkie or faverolle bantam. Black skin would be silkie or silkie mix. White skin -prob faverolle or faverolle mix. Good luck!

Thanks for your replies - unfortunately the little one did pass :hit