Nervous Novice - Butchering advice?

joone

In the Brooder
Feb 1, 2022
Hi! I'm new to raising birds for meat and am wanting to butcher my first batch of chickens soon. I've done a lot of reading and research (including on this forum!) and am determined to do this, but am still pretty nervous -- I've not butchered an animal before (besides an emergency cull of a bird that was suffering), and I want to make sure the process is as painless as possible for the birds. I do know that I prefer chopping the head off as opposed to slicing or breaking the neck.

So things I have questions about:

1. Does anyone have any advice for dealing with nerves?
  2. How do I keep the bird from flapping around/its neck stretched out so that I can make this a simpler process? (On the emergency cull I stuffed it into a bag, but my partner had to hold it for me -- I guess I want to know how I can make this a one-person job).
  3. I don't have a ton of muscle -- is there a particular axe/hatchet/machete brand that has a good weight to help with the cut and is easily sharpened? Bonus points if it comes sharpened (used a small hatchet before and it was. Not a good experience and the blade was impossible to get/keep sharp).
  4. Any recommendations for sharpeners and processing knives/equipment?
  5. Not a concern now because it is cold where I live -- but how do you keep flies away when processing during warmer months?
Thank you for any and all help you can give!

Does anyone have any advice for dealing with nerves?
Nerves is mainly about the unknown. My suggestion here is to practice so you have confidence you can do it. Maybe get a length of old hose to practice cutting.

How do I keep the bird from flapping around/its neck stretched out so that I can make this a simpler process? (On the emergency cull I stuffed it into a bag, but my partner had to hold it for me -- I guess I want to know how I can make this a one-person job).