Xetreverse Exotics

In the Brooder
Sep 24, 2021
Hey so, I am new to keeping ducks but not to chickens as I've had those before ducks. Currently has 9 ducklings, just about a month old by now. Previously had 10, casaulty to disease. Two different breeds, 4 silver appleyards and 5 welsh harlequins. Used to have 5 silver appleyards. They are all hens, or are supposed to be at least.

Interestingly yesterday, I just noticed one of my ducklings had feathers on the legs, was very excited to show her to my family. Then today's observation, I found that every single one of my welsh harlequin ducklings have pin feathers or feathering on their legs. Barely noticeable but it is there. I find this to be very fascinating as I did not know that ducks had feet feathers. I was very surprised at this very recent discovery.

Does anyone else have ducks that has feet feathers too? Or do I just happen to have gotten mutants for a breed of duck? There was nothing that I have researched that said anything about welsh harlequin ducks having feet feathers whatsoever so this has me running for more research and it seems that this isn't a common thing to happen in ducks? Is it usual for welsh harlequins to have this? I am seemingly unable to find anything of mention on feet feathers specifically on welsh harlequins. They're supposed to be purebreds, the both breeds. They're from McMurray Hatchery. So if anyone has anything to say, share or information I can learn from, anything really, I would really love it.

Do you have any pictures?
Sorry these aren't the best photos but I had to do this when it was dark out! Otherwise they will never sit still enough for me to take any photos of them. I tried my best to show what feathers they have on their legs, well barely noticeable as said, but they are more like, pin feathers, white in color. Hopefully it is enough to see the small feathers on the sides, it was a little hard since barely noticeable on top of that.
IMG_20210924_200121309.jpg