My chickens haven't started laying-shoulld I worry?

truittsosebee

Hatching
9 Years
May 10, 2010
I'm brand new to chickens and love this website; so much great information available! I got my chickens 10 days ago (2 Dominique hens, 2 ISA Brown hens, 1 Appenzeller Spitzhauben pullet). All the hens are around a year old and all were laying before I got them. They have a nice coop with plenty of room, plenty of layer feed and fresh water, lots of treats, and plenty of attention. They all seem very healthy and VERY happy. My wife and I are actually quite shocked at how much personality chickens exhibit, and how "friendly" they are. One of the Dominiques layed an egg on day 3, and nothing else. I've read that chickens will stop laying eggs for a while when they are moved to a new home, but how long should I expect before they start laying regularly? I will be glad to have the fresh eggs once they start laying, but mostly I just want to be sure nothing is wrong with my chickens. Also, at what age should we expect our pullet to start laying? She's only about 8 weeks old now, and my wife has really spoiled her already (okay, maybe I've spoiled her a little too; she's just soooo cute!)

Chickens do not like change! They will take a short while to relax. They will begin to lay again! If they donot start to lay in a week or two. I would use the cayanne pepper treatment. I use 2 tbl sp of cayanne pepper powder mixed in a pan of corn bread. Chickens dont taste heat like we do!!! The capsaicen (how ever you spell it) Kick starts the reproductive cycle again. It will Not hurt them but it will make then begin to lay again in about 3-4 days! Congrats on the new birds!
Chickens have to feel safe and relaxed before they will start to lay! Most chickens will start to lay at about 20-22 weeks old. some take a lil longer some a lil less!

Good Luck and God Bless!

Last edited: