MY BRAHMA HEN MAY HAVE CRUSH/SMOTHERED HER CHICK

Elliot Moose

Hatching
Jul 12, 2016
My Brahma hen may have smothered her newly hatched chick. It this possible. I am a newbie, letting my hen hatch her own. I am surprised one hatched considering all the mistakes I made. Day 21 was yesterday. Last night when I went to shut the door to the coop I knew there was something up.
As I was waiting for all others to settle on their roost, I could hear her making soft noises and I was sure I heard peeping. I lifted her little curtain and there and behold was a little fluffy butt stuck up in the air trying to stuff itself under its mother. It turned and starred at me for a moment and managed to wriggle under its mother. It looked happy and healthy. It didn't touch it. I just took a long look at it. I put the curtain back down and planned to move the two of them tonight into the nursery dog cage I have set up in the coop. I had read that she will sit on her nest for another 2-3 days so I didn't want to disturb them too soon. And perhaps another was going to hatch. Late this morning my daughter wanted to see the chick. There was no sign of it, so I gently took 2 fingers and lifted momma's wing. Nothing was there. I explored further and found the dead chick in the crook of her leg.

How do I prevent this? Does this happen often? Will this hen always crush her chicks? I have a 2nd broody sitting on 10 eggs and would like some success. Are Brahma's too big to sit on chicks?

I don't want to take the chicks away from the hen. The point of this was to watch the hens raise their own chicks, like the olden days.

Does anybody have any advice, other than taking the chicks away from their momma.

It happens. So sorry.
sad.png