My baby chick has a big lump on his neck and can't walk

Dimitar Zlatanski

In the Brooder
Mar 2, 2021
Help! One of my newly hatched chicks has wounded hocks and a big soft lump on his neck. He can’t stand, nor walk, just crawles.

Hi everyone,

My problem
I’m completely new to incubating eggs and just had my first 4 chicks hatch a few days ago. Three of them are doing fine; they walk around, eat and drink, but one of the has problems since it hatched. I noticed after I moved them to the brooder when they had dried for a few hours.

Sick Chick
One of my chicks can’t stand or walk because his legs are splayed out to the sides (is that spraddle leg?). He seems to have sores or wounds on his hocks, or “knees”. The parts where his joint connects with the leg or shank, near the thigh. Second problem I noticed is a big lump on the right side of his chest stretching past the wing and almost behind the neck. It is soft, as if containing liquid or air, and has a dull yellow color.

Spraddle leg, or?
I have completely no experience and read online that the leg problem could be “spraddle leg”, so I used a Band Aid to patch his legs closer to their normal position. Strangly however this didn't happen because of the cardboard in the brooder (which I quickly understood was wrong and added proper bedding with paper towels), but something that happend during hatching I guess. For the wounds or sores on the hocks I applied some Colloidal Silver to help desinfect and heal the them, but I'm not sure the joints and legs are in the right position.

Big, soft lump on right side of the neck