Mite infestation but chicks are still hatching?!

keridawn

In the Brooder
Jun 19, 2019
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Hi, I'm completely new to raising chickens so bear with me. I had a wild hen that was laying eggs in my garage closet go broody on me, she was sitting on nothing for 6 days and I bought her some fertilized eggs. She is on day 24 today and yesterday some eggs were still hatching. She also pooped in her nest (very runny) and soiled a lot of her eggs. I watched one of those eggs hatch yesterday! I also noticed her nest is quite infested with mites or fleas, not sure what they are. They are crawling all over her and baby chicks. I REALLY need to clean the nest and put down some DE, but I'm worried some of the eggs are still going to hatch and I don't want to disturb them or her as there are lots of baby chicks hanging out under her but I'm worried she and her chicks are going to die soon if I don't deal with this mess! Here are my questions:
1. should I do the float test on the remaining eggs? A lot of them are covered in poop, will the float test remove the protective bloom and make the poop go into the embryo?
2. Should I have a dust bath ready for them for when she finally leaves the nest? It has been 3 days that she has not gotten up to poop so I'm a bit worried for her health!
3. Is Diatomaceous Earth safe for chicks? Do I have to put it on them directly?
4. My chicken is feral so I'm not sure I will be able to touch her, she is especially protective right now, for example when I tried to reach into the nest to remove some broken shells she pecked at me, I haven't been able to remove them. Should I attempt to dust it on her or maybe make her a dust bath with it in it? Should I just mix the DE with regular dirt or sand?