Mealworm feedback requested

Sue and her hens

Hatching
Mar 19, 2022
Hello,

This is my first time visiting this forum... thanks for the access!

I raised chickens for many years, got busy with other things, but recently got a few for the company and fresh eggs and decided to raise some mealworms as well to supplement their diet. I've had no problems at all generating pupae and beetles.

I have done a lot of reading about the process and have provided the recommended temp typically is about 71) and humidity in the area has run about 37-41% which is well below the recommendations I've read. I have monitored the bins for signs of mold regularly.

The egg bin that I sifted out from the beetles in mid February has shown no signs of hatching which has been concerning to me, and today I was really bummed to discover that it was suddenly loaded with mold so I pitched it. That was not the case three days ago, there was good air flow to the bin, and it was not overloaded with anything that would produce too much moisture.

I have a second egg bin that I sifted out a week ago that is showing minimal signs of mold developing. If I move it to a cooler, drier area and provide no moisture, is there any possible hope that I can salvage them?

I have a ton of beetles, but am running really low on pupae, and I'm very close to the end of my original supply of 3k adult worms. I have invested a good bit of $$ and a whole lot of time, only to lose a lot of potential worms. I am hoping there are some successful mealworm farmers in who would be willing to offer some, and even better some in Washington County, Oregon (or reasonably close) who would be willing to share a new colony to help me get going again.

All good wishes,
Sue

Glad you joined us :welcome You'll enjoy learning and all the informations out there.